2009: 20-20 Tournament Report

Kenilworth played host to their inaugural 20-20 tournament day with a round robin tournament involving Harborne and Dumbleton from Cheltenham.

The format of the match was agreed to be 18 overs a side with bowlers limited to 4 overs maximum and a powerplay for the first 4 overs of each innings with only 2 fielders allowed outside the circle and a free hit for any front foot no balls.

ClubBadgeIn the opening match of the day Kenilworth played Dumbleton, who won the and invited Kenilworth to bat first on a pitch that looked full of runs and the outfield and it’s quickest all season. Mitch Lowe carried his bat through the innings to make 75 off 49 balls with 6 x 4s and 4 x 6s but he received support from Gregg Peebles who made 38 from 26 as they put on 79 run partnership for the 3rd wicket. Once Peebles was out, it was left to Adrian Sellar with 24 from just 16 balls to take the final total to 169-5 from 18 overs. For Dumbleton, Robin Churchman was the leading bowler with 2-38. In reply, despite a 57 runs partnership for the 1st wicket between Wayne Risdale and Andy Powell who made 32 and 28 before both falling to Edmunds, only Nicholson with an unbeaten 25 was the only other batsman to pass 20 as Dumbleton made 127-9 from their 18 overs to leave Kenilworth victors by 42 runs. Mitch Lowe and Geoff Edmunds both bowled economical 4 over spells to be rewarded with 3-15 and 3-18, Matt Bolshaw 1-31 and Roger Kelsey bowling at the death to claim 2-7 from 1 over.


With the tournament rules stating the losers from the opening game would play Harborne, Adam Stuart won the toss and this time decided his Dumbleton side would bat first. A different opening partnership from the previous game with Powell opening with keeper Nicholson but a similar result as they put on 63 in 7 overs for the opening wicket, however once they fell in consecutive deliveries another partnership ensured between Risdale and Stuart which yielded 62 runs in 7 overs before Stuart fell for 18 bowled by Tom Arnold and Risdale fell in the next over fell to an excellent catch from Baldev Raj off skipper Ian Gunthorpe’s bowling for an excellent 47 from 26 balls with 4 x 4s and 4 x 6s. This left Robin Churchman to hammer 37 from just 17 balls to take the final total to a competitive 170-4 from 18 overs. Harborne wickets were shared with 4 bowlers taking a wicket each. In reply, other than Baldev Raj who made an excellent 60 from 41 balls 5 x 4s and 3 x 6s, no other batsmen got going as the innings closed on 132-8 from 18 overs leaving Dumbleton victors by 38 runs. Robin Churchman and Henry Prudden claimed 2-24 and 2-28 respectively but special mention must be made to guest KCC player Tom ‘Boomer’ Anscombe who claimed 1-5 from 1 over with his flight and guile bowling!


In the final game of the day, Kenilworth won toss and batted first against Harborne. Matt Hone top scored with an unbeaten 67 from 40 balls with 5 x 4s and 3 x 6s as the innings closed on 159-5 from 18 overs. In reply, Harborne collapsed from to 80 all out from 11.2 overs. Matt Bolshaw led the attack with 4-34, Roger Kelsey 3-13 Mitch Lowe 2-12 and Ali Peebles 1-5 to leave Kenilworth victors by 79 runs and crowned 20-20 – or should it be 18-18 – “champions” for 2009!

Many Thanks to Geoff and the other ‘staff’ for the pitch (and running the bar), Ian Gunthorpe and Harborne, Adam Stuart and Dumbleton, Richard for scoring, George and Joan for the teas and to all those who played, as well as to the many who turned up at the ground throughout the day to support the event. It was a most enjoyable the day for all and a fitting way to round off the 2009 cricket season at the Club. Hopefully, it will be repeated at the end of next year’s season.

%d bloggers like this: