Menu Close

3rd XI Crowned Champions

1st XI Home vs Marston Green CC 1st XI

The first eleven hosted Marston Green 1st XI at Warwick Road. Marston Green won the toss and elected to field.

Kenilworth’s innings consisted of lots of starts without anyone capitalising. Waj Chohan top scored with 36 , accompanied by Quinn Bungard who made 24 on the way to 171/All Out off 48.2 overs. Both Ahmed Khan and Roheel Masrat took 3 wickets for the visitors.


Kenilworth bowled well to restrict Marston Green 147/8 but were unable to take the final wickets to win the game. Javed dug in for 39 and A Khan made 32 for the visitors. Waj Chohan took 2 for 20 and Connor Shingler 3 for 36. Atkinson, Lawrence and Kumar all contributing a wicket each.

The match was eventually drawn and Kenilworth take 15 points and are 8th in Div 2.


2nd XI Away vs Stockton Star CC 2nd XI

The second eleven travelled to Stockton Stars who won the toss and elected to field .

Kenilworth struggled early and were reduced to 17 for 5 and looked to be out the game however the middle and lower order contributed , Sam Davies making 31 not out and Matt Casey 30 to get Kenilworth to 135/All out. The pick of the bowlers was Kale, taking 3 for 27 for the home side.


Kenilworth bowled exceptionally well as Stockton were bowled out for 71 with Kansara top scoring with 19. 3 wickets each for Matt Casey, Tom Skinner and DPR whilst Babu took one. A monumental performance with the ball took the win and 24 points, keeping their outside chance of promotion alive.


3rd XI Home vs Ashton-Under-Hill CC 2nd XI

The 3s travelled to Lapworth on Saturday 2nd September to play the only side that could stop Kenilworth winning the league.
Needing a maximum of 7 points to be win the league, skipper Matt Dadswell won the toss electing to bat first, that meant we needed 5 points to win the league.
Opening pair Andy Dadswell and Peter Huxford made a steady start before Dadswell was out, a second wicket for Lapworth and the retirement of Huxford meant Kenilworth were 48 for 2 after 20 overs.
Joe Tate and Ben Cook then began to get the score moving, Cook fell for a solid 38, Steve Kelley joined Tate, batted together until the end of the 40 overs and innings, Tate making a fine 58 not out(5×4), Kelley 16 not out, we posted 152 for 3.
As the players tucked into a lovely tea, in the knowledge the points needed to win cotswold hills league division five were secured.
After tea and with no pressure, the lads came within 2 wickets of winning, Lapworth winning in penultimate over, finishing on 153 for 8.
Two wickets each for skipper Matt Dadswell, Nick Moore and Tom Best, one wicket for Dan Hone and run out completed the score. Tom Best also taking another brilliant catch off Hone.
All the seasons hard work paid off, special mentions to Will Thompson, Matt Bain, Josh Charlwood , Mark Stranks, Uma Umashanker and Mark Wisdish, all of who made match winning performances during the season.
Well played lads, fully deserved title.


Related Posts